Development – learning about fire

From my initial concepts, I took a step back and realized I needed to learn more about how fire, flames, and smoke works so I could design a well-informed product. 

the main points I learned from this research are: 

  • To create fire, you need 3 main elements which are – Fuel (wood), Oxygen (Air) and Heat (Initial flame). 
  • The reason heavy thick smoke is created in some fires is due to there not being steady air-flow moving through the fire. When I steady air-flow is running through the fire the smoke is reduced dramatically creating hardly any harm to people around it.
  • The smoke needs to attach to an elevated object to move up and out of peoples faces. An example of this is when you light a bomb fire and there is not an elevated object such as a tall stone inside the firepit. The smoke attaches its self to the tallest object that is surrounding the fire (the spectaters), this is why when you are around a bomb fire it can feel as if the smoke is following you.  

Leave a comment